“You are not a mistake. You are not a problem to be solved.”

“You are not a mistake. You are not a problem to be solved.

In the past few weeks, I have been obsessed with solving problems – my problems, my own personal problems. How can I be more creative? Where is my self-will? What is my self-worth? How can I increase it?

And my answers have been prescriptive: Write more. Hiding underneath insecurities. Minimal. Stop making poor decisions that are below you.

And within these answers I found an inherent theme, a divisive statement: “You are not enough.” Because you cannot create solutions without first identifying problems. And you cannot identify your own problems without seeing yourself as exactly that: A problem to be solved.

02

We are a beautiful composite of problems and solutions. We are proactive and reactive behavior, at their best, and their worst. We are self-will and we know no boundaries. We are lovers and we are friends. We are sisters and brothers. We are healers and it is we who must be healed.

There is power in duality. It tunes us into how exactly far we’ve come and helps us understand how much farther we have to go. It is this self-awareness and acceptance that challenges us to explore ourselves more deeply, because we know that our true potential is present. This awareness keeps us from moving backwards. Keep us from falling behind. From slipping below our own standards.

I don’t know how to solve my imperfections. I am, I have, many. And vulnerability is not an easy thing. But, I do choose to see my problems as a mark of my progress rather than a metric for my shortcomings. Perspective moves you forward even when nothing has changed.

So stop shaming. Stop fearing yourself. You are awesome and mistakes are natural. Just because you make mistakes, it does not mean you are one. Mistakes mean you’re trying. If nothing else, mistakes mean you’re trying.

Stop identifying with problems. Stop concocting solutions. Stop trying to solve yourself.

“You are not a mistake. And you are not a problem to be solved.”

 

Leave a Reply

